Another Glance

I took another glance in the Looking Glass
this hot, humid summer night;
I cringe at the reflection I see
in the silver moon’s light.

Every once in a while I see
that I am not the friend I want to be;
only that I remain in one’s head
as a wraith, a banshee, an eternal enemy.

That is when I remember this truth:
that the worst pain comes not from a fresh cut,
but rather the old scars ripped apart
and stitches yanked out of my heart.

Alas, this is the way life goes
and nothing is ever easy or fair;
life can be full of pain and woe,
This is how we grow and learn to care.

One Response to “Another Glance”

  1. Blood Red Says:

    Confession, I didn’t want to throw that last stanza in but did anyway… boils down to life just sucks sometimes, especially for someone ruled by emotion. Hate being a cancerian fire snake sometimes! 😉

Leave a Reply

