Empty

Yes I know my duties, I know my place.
I wake each morning in absent grace.
I try to go through the daily routine,
only to realize deep within, my fiend.

My soul slips as I begin to despair.
I go through the motions, too aware,
that I walk as an empty shell
with no heart after I fell.

I try and I try and I try to no avail
to be the expected woman unveiled.
I stand by your side day and night
only to forsake the morning’s light.

Why I remain empty and cannot fill
is a question that remains unanswered still.
I have love, I have refuge, I have faith
-but somewhere in my soul is my eternal wraith.

Leave a Reply

