The Gateway to Hell

We were all standing on the banks of the River of Immortality.  It was the strangest and most beautiful River I’d ever seen!  It flowed in two directions – upstream would take you to Heaven.  When one looked in that direction, beautiful willow trees leaned over the River, providing a sweet smelling veil as one traveled in their boat toward eternal Love.  The light cast from that side of the River was bright and white but never blinding.  A surreal sense of Peace and Calm pervaded over that part of the River.

However, a short ways downstream was the Waterfall to Hell.  It was the edge of the world and that side of the River was filled with hard, lifeless rock and stinking sulfur, hiding the stench of dead and burning flesh!  It was dark with only a faint cast of an orange glow and screams could be heard over the sound of the thunderous Waterfall.

Satan sat lowly beside our Father, just waiting to grab who it could so that it could cast them over the Waterfall and into the Gateway to Hell…

One by one, I watched those I loved being showed into the Boats toward Heaven, breathing a sigh of relief each time.  A heavenly seraph went to grab my hand but I saw Satan make a move toward you before it was your turn.  I pulled away and demanded it take me and not  you.  Without another word I ran toward the edge of the world to jump over the Waterfall, but you had chased after me and grabbed my hand.  You wanted to know what I was doing and I told you I knew a secret.  I asked for your trust; you slowly nodded.  Hand in hand we both jumped…

What Satan didn’t realize as it laughed watching us jump over the edge, was that it had to cast souls over the Waterfall for them to fall into the Gateway.  If someone jumped themselves, then they flew away…

As the morning broke, I could hear the sirens wail and paramedics talking to a doctor over their radio….  I kept asking for my family and for you.  No one would answer me.  I was wheeled on the stretcher into an emergency semiprivate room and in a couple minutes you were brought to the ER bed next to me.  I looked at you and you looked over to me…

I remembered the River of Immortality. I remembered those that had departed toward Heaven.  And I remembered our jump, our leap of faith.  So here we are, to begin again…

Leave a Reply

