The Dragon Within

I can feel my world closing in;
All around me is imploding!
There is a pang in my chest,
and I feel myself falling.

Tears well up in my eyes
and my chin quivers…
My soul cracks and breaks;
my heart bleeds like a muddy river.

My lungs feel hot and tight
as I long for you through the night.
This world has become a Chrysalis;
and I dwell in the sorrow around me.

I begin to feel anger as I choke
-unable to breath and see light.
Before long, I will claw my way out;
only to reveal the most awesome sight!

The transformation is nearly complete
and I now look like my broken soul-
this world has released in me
the Dragon within-black as coal.

Leave a Reply

